Conservation Commission

“Once it’s gone, it’s gone forever!”

Welcome to the Sullivan Conservation Commission’s webpage. The Conservation Commission was established in 1973 as a volunteer organization under Chapter 36-A of the New Hampshire revised statutes “for the proper utilization and protection of the natural resources and for the protection of watershed resources of said city or town.”

In addition the Conservation Commission provides support and recommendations to the Sullivan Board of Selectmen, Planning Board, Zoning Board of Adjustment, and the Trustees of Trust Funds.  

The Conservation Commission also:

  • Provides residents with the opportunity to properly dispose of hazardous household waste at the Keene Recycling Center.
  • Inspects potential driveway curb cuts and subdivisions with the Planning Board.
  • Reviews wetland permit applications prior to forwarding to the  NHDES Wetland Bureau.
  • Oversees the management of the Town Forest and Jewett Park.
  • Assists with development of conservation easements and other open space protective measures.                 
  • Promotes conservation education by organizing town walks and the sponsoring of a Harris Center Educator to the Nelson School.
  • Works with the town historian to catalog historic sites for protection and provide historical walks throughout town.
  • Organizes annual town-wide roadside cleanups and has planted two elm trees a year for eight years, mostly lining the road to the cemetery.  
  • Reviews proposed timber harvests for potential wetland disturbances.
  • Has established a bulletin board in the Town all for conservation information.
  • Has made available to residents a Kill-a-Watt Monitor available at the town library.

The Conservation Commission meets at 7:00 pm the second Wednesday of each month at the Sullivan Town Hall.  All meetings are open to the public and we welcome new members and anyone interested in attending our meetings.

Currently serving as Conservation Commission members:

Wendy Pelletier, Chairman – 603-209-0333 

Becky Cummings, Clerk

Roger Sweet

Hilliare Wilder

John “Chip” Woodbury

Alternate Members
Jim McByrne
Eric White